Cherryade Records


Ste McCabe - Murder Music


Cherryade is thrilled to present its 28th release, the sophomore album by Manchester ’s queer pop punk superstar Ste McCabe. Murder Music was released on Monday October 26th and is available to buy from all good record shops (distributed by Cargo), from iTunes, and directly below.

Murder Music is the much anticipated follow-up to Ste’s debut album Hate Mail released on Cherryade in September 2008, which earned him features in Artrocker and the Gay Times as well as international airplay. Ste has continued to wow audiences up and down the country with his short, sharp live shows and this summer saw him play at the Indietracks festival in Derbyshire to a packed-out stage.

Queer-feminist artist Ste McCabe’s second album sees Ste moving towards a more electro-punk approach musically, whilst lyrically becoming more ferociously political than ever. Featuring duets with avant-garde performer David Hoyle (previously known as Divine David) and talented pianist Pianofingers, Ste’s new release is, at times the sarcastic pop we have come to expect, and at other times intensely dark. Taking on the themes of fatal homophobia within organised religions and the many ignored murders of LGBT people, Ste McCabe takes no prisoners whilst managing to keep the album a personal affair. Here with the complete, uncensored artwork, we bring you the album some manufacturers refused to print - Murder Music. To find out more about Ste McCabe and check on live dates please visit his MySpace page; you can also watch the music video for the track "Militant Disco" at the bottom of this page.

A full-on blend of pure punk guitar and a snippy, snarling, sarcastic world view, marks Ste out to be the Billy Bragg, or possibly even the Henry Rollins, of gay politics. The album’s 11 tracks of short sharp gobs of spittle flecked vitriol hover in the hinterland of The Buzzcocks and Jilted John reimagined as a gay activist –  The Devil Has The Best Tuna

The rawness, honesty and subject matter of the songs are certainly something different and fresh on the music scene. Oh, and you can dance to the album, too. So what more could we want? Not a lot, that's for damn sure - it's pretty much got everything to both incense and exciteGaydar Nation

This is just what I needed to land through the door of the editorial office. This is almost Pete Shelley-esque in its delivery and urgency, cleverly-penned social commentary, with heavy punk-pop undertones and easily danceable beats - Soundcheck Magazine

Muder Music was officially released on October 26th 2009; as a special treat for those of you that neglected to pick up Hate Mail earlier, we're now selling both albums along with the "Harrowing Breakdown" EP together for just £15 plus £2 postage! More punk-pop goodness than you can shake a stick at! Tracklisting is:

1.  Murder Music

2.  Excuse No 1: Old Testament

3.  Militant Disco (with David Hoyle)

4.  I'll Spit On Your Grave (with Pianofingers)

5.  Toilet Scrubbing

6.  Excuse No 2: Quran

7.  Public Debate

8.  I've Got A Big Car

9.  What Do You Know?

10.  Last Night I Found God


Watch the official video for "Militant Disco" starring Ste and David Hoyle!

Read the reviews!


Murder Music (CD) £8.00



"Harrowing Breakdown EP" + Murder Music + Hate Mail (CD) £15.00



I've Got A Big Car music video