Cherryade Records


The Lovely Eggs - Cob Dominos


“You won't hear another band like this anywhere between now and the end of the Millennium. The Lovely Eggs are just brilliant”Huw Stephens

“I fucking love The Lovely Eggs" Everett True, Plan B Magazine

Cherryade is over the moon to present its very special 38th release, the second album by the truly eggstraordinary Lovely Eggs!

The Lovely Eggs have been described as unhinged, strange, bizarre, cuckoo and howling mad; but with a growing army of fans including Radio One’s Huw Stephens and Art Brut's Eddie Argos you'd be crazy not to fall in love with The Lovely Eggs underground grunge-pop sound. Inspired by everyday life, coupled with a fierce ethos that music should be about magic and art and feeling and fun, the Lancashire duo have more in common with writer Richard Brautigan and artist David Shrigley than they do with their musical peers. Occasionally satirical and often surreal The Lovely Eggs won't deliver a straight forward love song to your door, instead you’ll be taken on a journey into Holly and David’s world where there are no seatbelts!

Receiving airplay from Huw Stephens, Steve Lamacq, Marc Riley, Rob Da Bank, Tom Robinson, Gideon Coe and John Kennedy, The Lovely Eggs have recorded sessions for BBC Radio One, BBC 6 Music and XFM. Last year the pair were invited to perform 5 shows at SXSW in Austin Texas, where they also recorded with legendary cult musician and artist Jad Fair. With releases in the UK, Europe, USA and Japan, the band have enjoyed press from Artrocker Magazine, The Guardian, Maximum Rock and Roll and music critic Everett True. Their debut album If You Were Fruit (released in the UK and USA) ranked in the top 40 records of 2009 by Artrocker Magazine and was nominated for XFM's ‘Debut Album of the Year’. In the last two years the band have played hundreds of gigs around the UK, USA and Europe supporting the likes of Shonen Knife, The Slits, The Television Personalities and Eddie Argos as well as a two month tour of America and festival appearances at The Secret Garden Party, Shambala, Solfest (main stage) and Beatherder (main stage). The Lovely Eggs have become well known for their live performances and have played everywhere from Amsterdam squats and Los Angeles scrap yards to steam trains in Ripley and charity shops in Leeds. Their new album Cob Dominos, preceded by single ‘Don’t Look At Me (I Don’t Like It)’, is to be released on 14th Feb 2011.

What people said about their first album:

The Lovely Eggs are unhinged in the best possible way... This is a completely singular album - Drowned in Sound

This is now officially the new best thing ever, and replaces all previous best things ever... Go to it, kids. This is an order - Jonathan Lovett, Massive Crush

If you can listen to If You Were Fruit without a smile on your face then you may well need to see a doctor, this is a great, fun album that is never afraid to try the weird and experimental and almost never fails to hit the spot each time... The greatest thing I can say about The Lovely Eggs is that John Peel would’ve loved them and, let’s face it, if they great man would’ve loved them there’s every chance you will too - God Is In The TV

Go and buy this bloody terrific album right now - Heckler Spray

Cob Dominos is a truly wonderful and unique album, delivering all of the quirky charm and sonic thrills we’ve come to expect from a band who have continued to go from strength to strength and cement their reputation as one of the most genuinely exciting and essential bands around today. It is like no other album you will hear this, or any other, year, and is a fitting testament to a band whose imagination and creativity seems to know no bounds. Cob Dominos was released on Cherryade on Valentine’s Day – Feb 14th – and is available from all good record shops (distributed by Cargo), and from most major digital retailers, as well as directly below. Tracklisting is:

1.  Minibus

2.  People Are Twats

3.  Panic Plants

4.  Print An Imprint

5.  Don't Look At Me (I Don't Like It)

6.  Hey Scraggletooth

7.  Fuck It

8.  Muhammad Ali And All His Friends

9.  Why Don't You Like Me

10.  I'm A Journalist

11.  Books Ting!

12.  Alphabet Song

13.  Watermelons

14.  Pets

15.  Oregon

16.  Real Good Man

17.  Mexico Can't Make You Smile


Read the reviews!


Cob Dominos (CD) £10.00



DJs that have played tracks from the album include:

Tom Robinson (6 Music)

Jon Kennedy (XFM)

Tom Ravenscroft (6 Music)

Marc Riley (6 Music)

Bethan Elfyn (6 Music)

Chris Hawkins (6 Music)

Jon Hillcock (XFM)

Jo Good (6 Music)

Huw Stephens (Radio One)